Birthdays   1 comment

Growing up I’m told I never said just “birthday.” I always said “happy birthday” as if it was one word. When is your happy birthday? And I always had at least two birthday celebrations, often three. I had a summer birthday so we were often on vacation. That meant I’d often get a birthday celebration with my grandmother and assorted aunts, uncles and cousins while in Texas, a celebration on the day with my parents and brother wherever we were that day, and then a party with my friends back at home. It continued all the way through high school – those four years it was a pool party at the Sander’s house. Birthdays were a big deal for me – until college. Don’t remember what happened most of my college years, but do remember my 21st birthday. Just home from Europe, I found myself at a fundraising spaghetti supper eating chocolate sheet cake – no candle, no singing. Only I knew it was my birthday cake that year. Pretty anticlimactic for the “happy birthday” girl. After that, it was somewhat run of the mill until my 40th.  Jeff threw a BIG surprise party for me. I knew there was a party but I thought it was a church party and had no idea it was for my birthday complete with an aunt, uncle, cousins (adopted family) and my birthmom (2nd meeting) and a sister I hadn’t met until that night!  I was blown away!

A few years later, I started collecting décor and such and planning (in my mind at least) my 50th birthday party. It was to have a 50’s theme since I was born in 56 and hope to someday have a 50’s diner theme kitchen.  The year of my 50th birthday came and my partner at the time wound up in the hospital for two and a half months
(including brain surgery.) My birthday got overlooked that year. I decided I’d  do the 50’s theme for my 55th birthday. Right before my 54th birthday, I took a cruise with my 4 sisters. As it was the first time we’d all
been together other than their father’s memorial, we celebrated all our birthdays on the cruise with gifts and even a piece of cake with a candle that we passed around to all of us. Back home, De threw a birthday party for me, but
I was still saving the 50’s theme for the next year.

Last month, my 55th birthday was approaching. I was single again and having a party at my duplex was out of the question. My daughter and grandson took me out to lunch the day before my birthday, and a friend took me to Norma’s Diner for lunch that day – Norma’s has a 50’s theme and started in ’56 just like me! That night I was backstage at the Campus Theatre helping out with “Bye, Bye Birdie” getting birthday wishes from all the cast and crew.  It was perfect. I love the theatre, especially musicals. I was joking about how my favorite thing to get for my birthday was theatre tickets, and as I was single, I not only didn’t have anyone to take me to the theatre, I didn’t have anyone to share my season tickets with – so being backstage (and giving my season tickets to friends) was perfect. And it even had a 50’s theme complete with poodle skirts, bobbie socks and ponytails. My 55th birthday turned out wonderful. I might still throw a 50’s theme party for my 56th (born in 56, turning 56) depending on what’s going on with my life next August, but then again, I might just wait till I finally get my 50’s diner theme kitchen and then just throw a party to celebrate the kitchen, whenever it happens.

Posted September 3, 2011 by joyestee in Uncategorized

One response to “Birthdays

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As 50 is fast approaching for me, the thought is unreal in itself, 50. By 50 I thought I would have experienced everything in life. Love and a committed lifetime relationship, world travel, a successful career that I love, close and numerous family ties an extended circle of friends that would celebrate holidays and events in the house that is our home and in a town we’d call our HOME TOWN. There would be Peace in my heart and soul, endless love in my life and with my life, and a sense of anticipated joy for all that is left to experience in life with that person who like no other has made life worth living.

    141 days before my 50th Birthday my world imploded. Nothing is left but the charred remains of my soul. “The meaning of life” is a question that no longer exists in my repertoire of thinking. For I believed that life was to experience the open exchange of love and all of it glories. The concept of love and what I believed it was, is but a fantasy of my heart’s making. There is now a huge hole where love was, nothing can fill that empty place, nothing can mend it, for only love can replace love.

    50 may come and go, but without love in your life 50 is but a number that is only halfway to 100, twice as much as 25, or one more then 49. Without love, 50 will be equivalent to zero. Love makes life exponentially better. Life minus Love leaves your heart in a deficit and your soul bankrupt.

    I ask for your prayers to get through this dark time and pray that the outcome is what life needed to teach me and this will help me grow, not shrink and jade my complete perception of mankind or the meaning of life or love. For now, just prayers for me to make it to another day (much less my 50th “Happy Birthday”) will be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

