Hello world!   Leave a comment

I went to a Social Media for Business Workshop back in September, and saw blogging in my future. I was a photo-journalism major in college way back when, so I shouldn’t be scared about blogging, but…. It is a bit scary. Wasn’t sure where to start and then today I composed my first entry while riding my bike. Came home and wrote it down quickly, and now, my blog is born.

I was out biking today. I was feeling good about myself. A little past the half way mark, I’m pedaling slow on a slight incline. Telling myself that slow pedaling is better than walking the bike – so I’m doing good. See a jogger on the cross street ahead. As I turn and it levels out I pass the jogger quickly. Alright! Then my walkman starts playing “Tuesday Morning” by Melissa Etheridge. It’s about one of the men on the flight that went down in Philadelphia. I’m hit with a feeling of insignificance. But is doing something to make myself a better person insignificant? We aren’t offered many chances to make a major difference in the world. We just have to do our best and see the chances that come along. I didn’t really enjoy working clerical 8-5, but I was doing something that had to be done. I was missed when I wasn’t there. Now I’m trying to make it as a photographer. But I haven’t made my mark. I enjoy taking portraits, working events, and taking the rehearsal pictures at Denton Community Theatre, but I don’t stand out yet. I need to be distinctive. I need to stand out. I need to make a mark.

Posted February 19, 2011 by joyestee in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

